Our own private tidal pools

We spent the morning having brunch with Laura’s family and then hiked into the gulch near her house to relax in the tide pools. The hike was beautiful and rather exciting having to climb down a rope to get to the pools.  I wasn’t particularly interested in sitting in the tide pool. It seemed rather small and stagnant. I was far more captivated by watching all the fish and crabs and sea urchins roaming around. I spent a good amount of time with my face hovering just above the water. We came across a couple brave shrimp-like creatures; they were bright red and white striped with a bit of purple on their underbelly and long antennae. They were just as curious about us as we were of them; when they got over their initial fear, they started to come check out our toes.  I did some research later and found that they are called cleaner or coral shrimp, known for living in warm seas and cleaning parasites off fish.  They are usually found in pairs.  The image added is not my own; the hike in was a bit too treacherous to risk taking in my camera though I wish I had done it.

Afterward, Cori and I left Laura’s and made the hour and a half drive back to Stephanie’s in Kona. As we rolled along the long dirt driveway, filtered light coming through the ironwoods, Cori put Ray Charles on the radio. I thought of Grandpa and the night he taught me how to dance in the living room. We played the old tunes from Artie Shaw and Benny Goodman, pushed the coffee table away and made slow circles around the braided wool rug. Occasionally Grandma would jump in to help. We were all quite amused.

That evening, we went to the Kona Brewing Company and had some great pizza and salad. I was very glad to be at Stephanie’s; I looked forward to waking up enveloped in bird songs.

Leave a Reply

