Reefs, sunsets, good company and difficult life choices

The sunset from Stephanie’s porch

Thursday, Cori and I treated ourselves to a massage downtown and spent the rest of the day lounging around the house.  The evening was quite beautiful.  Stephanie bought three large pieces of decadent cheesecake to celebrate my birthday.  Cori made lilikoi margaritas and we watched the sky light up with pinks and orange as the sun retreated.  Tom Petty’s Wildflowers played in the background.  We were quite unmotivated to make an actual dinner so we grabbed three forks and shared the cheesecake, drank some more and got silly until it was time to sleep.

School of Yellow Tang (web image)

Friday, Laura met Cori and I to go snorkeling at the beach.  The beach in downtown Kona was covered in pasty white tourists with the occasional red peeling blotch of skin.  I didn’t look any different.  But I was really put off by the crowd of people snorkeling.  I felt claustrophobic so I swam out as far as I could before the waves broke and made things complicated.  There were tons of fish of course and an occasional turtle floating around the coral speckled with the spikes of seas urchins and soft pillowy bodies of sea anemones.  I saw several unicorn fish which were quite amazing, as well as triggerfish, parrotfish, angelfish, pufferfish, needle fish amongst many others.  Most notably, I ran into a small school of yellow tang which luckily I didn’t get too close to as I would find out later that they have very sharp fins.  They were beautiful nonetheless, moving like a rippling flag.

Picasso triggerfish (web image)

In the evening, Cori, Stephanie and I went to an outdoor movie in Waikoloa showing in the open courtyard of the Queen’s Marketplace.  The movie,  “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,” was fun, moving and introspective.  It balanced well with the full moon and occasional stars and the wind blowing strong and warm through the clattering palms.  Today was Stephanie’s last day at the nursery she had worked at for 15 years.  So we celebrated and contemplated the change she would be facing.  The movie was good for that I think as it dealt with how one copes with one’s life choices towards the end.  Something I’m constantly thinking about whenever I make a decision about anything.  I felt very empathetic to Stephanie’s struggle with entering the next chapter of her life.

Unicorn Fish (web image)

Would she stay in the house she’s lived in for years, where she mothered her now-grown children?  Or will she sell the place, free herself of every comfort she has known and dive into a completely new scenario?  Sometimes you have to take that risk of finding something better for yourself as you grow and change as a person.  Most of us think we’re supposed to be firmly planted into a lifestyle by the time we reach a certain age.  But  the more people I meet, even in their 50s or 60s, I realize that no matter your age you are still capable and prone to change and the need to reset your life.  Settling in and establishing roots once doesn’t mean sometimes you won’t  outgrow the pot and need to be transplanted.  There is nothing unhealthy about realizing when it’s time to transplant oneself.  I feel it’s unhealthy to perhaps never make that realization or to let fear keep you from acting on it.

One thought on “Reefs, sunsets, good company and difficult life choices

  1. Hi Fade,

    I have definately enjoyed all you have sent on your Hawaii trip~!!! I have been copying 2 copies, one for me and one for Dennis, which I hope he would share with your grandma.
    A strange thing happened as I was trying to wait for the photos to come in on the third piece that you sent before copying…. It went completely blank and I could not find it anywhere!?? The rest I got OK.

    Are you home yet?? You must have stayed quite a while in Hawaii, no? Have a couple other emails to get off that I have neglected…… Later Sal

Leave a Reply

